Philippine Independence and Sovereignty

My practicum at the University of the Philippines Integrated School is finally drawing to a close. I’ve decided to upload the materials I’ve made in the last four to five months for posterity. I admit that I do feel proud about these materials because I exerted quite a lot of effort and time in developing them.

I hope other teachers can find them useful. I understand that materials are hard to come by in the country, especially those that have been well-researched. I was lucky enough to have had good references available in UPIS for my use. In fact right after graduation I went to the UP Departamento ng Kasaysayan and bought myself a copy of the more affordable references that the UPIS Social Studies Department had in their catalog.

I taught Social Studies to grade six pupils, specifically section Emerald and Sapphire with thirty-two and thirty-three students per class. The grade six curriculum focused on civics. During the third quarter the focus was on the current Philippine state and its form of government. In the last quarter the focus was on sovereignty and the project of nationhood. The first hand out is a condensed recap of Spanish colonization in the Philippines. I admit it’s quite wordy. Here you go:

If I were to teach civics again in the future, I would reverse the order of my first and second hand out. It would be better to begin, I think, with the indigenous sovereign societies, to emphasize the fact that our forebears were capable of civilized rule. Sir Gringgo told me about Andres Bonifacio‘s framework of liwanag – dilim – liwanag embedded in Ang Dapat Mabatid ng mga Tagalog during a random conversation in the Social Studies Deparment a few days after I had delivered the lesson. This helped me clarify the nationhood thesis even more.

Looking back on those days of frantic lesson plan writing and material preparation, I learned quite a lot from Sir Gringgo despite the brief conversations my fellow student teachers and I had with him. I kept on observing him and how he taught his students. While I had previously learned most of the facts in his content from my major subjects in the university, it was the way that he presented information that was remarkable. He used graphic organizers that helped even me clarify the relationships as well as implications. That sort of presentation helped his students greatly in drawing insightful conclusions from his lessons. I want to emulate this, too!

Leave a Reply

