Book in the Mail Unwrapped: Janus Silang at Ang Tiyanak ng Tábon

On my reading scope at the moment is Edgar Calabia Samar’s Janus Silang at Ang Tiyanak ng TábonLast month, I read and wrote about Ang Ikaklit sa Aming Hardin for a blog tour (you can read my interview with the author, Miss Det Neri, here and my review of the book here) organized by my good friend Xi Zuq of Xi Zuq’s Nook. This month, I signed up for another round after finding out that a book of interest was getting the spotlight. The first thing that drew my attention? Check out the blurb (emphasis mine):

Look at that cover full of enigma! I like covers that by themselves can spark the reader's imagination.

Look at that cover full of enigma!

Sa tournament ng TALA Online sa bayan ng Balanga, namatay ang lahat ng manlalaro maliban kay Janus. Sunod-sunod pa ang naging kaso ng pagkamatay ng mga kabataan sa computer shops sai ba’t ibang panig ng bansa. Kinontak si Janus ng nagpakilalang Joey, isa rin umano sa mga nakaligtas sa paglalaro ng TALA na gaya niya. Hindi inasahan ni Janus ang mga matutuklasan niya mula rito na mag-uugnay sa kanya sa misteryo ng kinahuhumalingan niyang RPG—at sa alamat ng Tiyanak mula sa Tábon!

As a gamer myself, particularly of online role-playing games (RPG), those first two lines snared the curious cat in me the minute I read them. Finally, here’s a young adult novel in Filipino about my demographic: male high school-er,  incessant texter, and internet café  resident. Well, except that I’m a girl and my teenage years happened almost a decade ago. There is a gamer girl in the story, though she mostly tiptoes in the background as an amnesiac. That counts as being represented, right? And really, considering my other options in the Filipino YA book shelf at the moment (mostly romance potboilers) I’d rather be one of the boys with Janus Silang any day.

This is actually my second look through the book. I read it last week after it arrived in the mail, and now I’m poring over it again as I free write a draft review. Wait for it as it will be coming out on Saturday (May 3) after the interview with author Egay Samar on Friday (May 2).

If you want to start reading Janus Silang pronto, the first chapter is available for reading in Talarchives.net or wattpad. It was being sold at this year’s Summer Komikon at Php 175 and will become available in mainstream bookstores this May. You can catch the author Edgar Calabia Samar on 10th May at the National Book Store SM North branch and on 17th May National Book Store Glorietta 5 branch.

You can also join the #JanusSilang blog tour raffle for a chance to win a copy of the book for free. Proceed to Rafflecopter.

One thought on “Book in the Mail Unwrapped: Janus Silang at Ang Tiyanak ng Tábon

Leave a Reply

