My First Portfolio Day

Harried and running on little sleep after two weeks of marathon reading and checking, I crammed the arrangement of my students’ work for our school’s portfolio day. I remembered to snap a few photos of the Ekonomiks output but completely forgot to take pictures of the English 8 output. Augh, I need to document better. But well, here we are.

My motif for the following was Gardner’s theory on multiple intelligence but I didn’t have enough time to put up samples for number smart and music smart:

Describing Scarcity for the Body Smart

Describing Scarcity for the Body Smart

Economic Systems for the Picture Smart

Economic Systems for the Picture Smart

Economic Systems for the  Language Smart

Economic Systems for the Language Smart

econsystems

I asked students to analyze fictional societies and determine what economic systems ran behind the scenes.

I look at these now and these artifacts somehow reassure me that my students have learned something in the quarter they have spent with me. But before I even let this consolation lull me into complacency, I remind myself that looking only at the best work buries the worst. Yet it is the worst work that can show me the most clues about what I need to do to improve my teaching technique.

I want to document my work and my students’ work better. I want to analyze and tease out the problems from the cluttered observations and assessment results. I want to devise effective solutions. I want to have a reflective practice. But right now, I feel too tired to keep my thoughts straight. I know this will lead nowhere but my own incoherence. Maybe the first thing I need to do is get a decent amount of sleep and keep off the coffee.

Leave a Reply

