The Number Thirteen and a Plane

no13
“Oh and before I completely forget, the memory returns of the split second realization that after some nine years of fairly regularly getting on and off planes, it has only now in my most recent trip come to my attention that Cebu Pacific skips the #13 when it assigns row numbers. And that just underscored for me how strongly irrational and superstitious Pinoy culture is.”

After making this comment, Romer called me up to say the irrationality isn’t exclusive to Filipinos and that I shouldn’t single out our culture. It’s found in both Western and Eastern thought. True enough, psychological studies have uncovered a variety of people’s everyday systematic irrational biases and/or thought processes.

Leave a Reply

